How To, iOS 14

Apple Pay Expands to Desjardins in Canada and 3 Tiny British Regions –

In addition to launching in Russia and at The Co-operative Bank and Metro Bank in the United Kingdom this week, Apple Pay is now available at Canadian credit union Desjardins, serving some 5.8 million members, and to residents of three tiny British Crown dependencies: Guernsey, Isle of Man, and Jersey.


Desjardins members can use Apple Pay with Visa credit or prepaid cards or Interac debit cards. Desjardins said its MasterCard cards will be supported in 2017. Eligible cards can be added to Apple Pay by tapping the “Add Credit or Debit Card” option in the Wallet app on iPhone 5 and later running at least iOS 8.1.

Apple Pay continues to expand to additional banks and countries, with New Zealand, Japan, and Taiwan reportedly set to launch the mobile payments service in the near future. Last year, Apple Pay vice president Jennifer Bailey said Apple is “working rapidly” to expand the service to additional countries in Asia and Europe.

Related Roundup: Apple Pay
Tag: Canada